Announcing the 2020 Recipients of the Allison Carroll Forever 14 Scholarship

We are pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Allison Carroll Forever 14 Scholarship, Shannon Galloway and Owen Helgesen.


The scholarship fund is in honor of Allison Carroll, who died tragically in a car accident on July 22, 2018. Allison’s father, Ed Carroll and close family friend, Phil Branon, in cooperation with Hillgrove head basketball coaches, Ed Morris and Susan Milan, created the Allison Carroll Forever 14 Scholarship Fund with the Cobb Community Foundation to carry on Allison’s name and spirit. Forever 14 represents Allison’s team number from the Hillgrove High School basketball team.


Each year, two senior student-athletes from Hillgrove High School receive a $1,000 college scholarship. Athletes are nominated by Hillgrove faculty and coaches. To be eligible for the scholarship, recipients must have maintained a minimum 3.0 GPA, participated in at least one GHSA Hillgrove sport for a minimum of two years and earned a varsity letter, received recommendations, and engaged in community service and extracurricular activities.


“We are thrilled to recognize these two outstanding student-athletes,” says Ed Carroll. “While Allison is not physically with us anymore, the scholarship helps to ensure that her spirit will forever live on through Hillgrove students of high character with a passion for making a positive impact on everything they touch.”


Learn more about the scholarship here >>

Access the full media release here >>